Called to freedom

I’ve been inspired.

Well, “inspired” may be a strong word.  Let’s go with “moved” instead.  Whatever you want to call it, here I am with a blog.  Which, if my memory and math serves correctly, will be attempt number four at this type of thing.

But this time, I hope/think it will last for a while.  Because this time, I feel like I have something worth writing about – not because my prose will be brilliant (it won’t) but because it will be a means of recording some things I am thinking and, if I am really lucky, will also be a means of having people more intelligent than I responding to my thoughts and questions with greater insight.

The name of the blog is, as you can see, “Called To Freedom.”  I got this from Galatians 5:13.

For you were called to freedom, brethren; only do not turn your freedom into an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another. (NASB)

This particular passage and its surrounding verses have a special meaning for me.  When my wife and I were going through some very difficult times in dealing with fellow Christians, I managed – no, God led me to this portion of His scripture.

One of the cool things is, though, that this passage has a different meaning to me than it did when I first discovered it – but both meanings were what I needed to be spiritually fed at the time.

Anyway, back to the point.  One of the purposes of this blog is to help me in my journey to discover God’s will through His word – not through what I’ve already been taught in my 37 years in the church of Christ, not through my previously-held convictions.  Just through His word.  We clearly have been called to freedom, as Paul said.  I want to have a better understanding of what that means, among many other things.

I know I have many more questions than answers and I imagine many of the posts will reflect that.  I hope I am lucky enough to be found by others with more knowledge and wisdom than I have, and that their comments will help me on my journey.

May God bless and guide our study of His word.

Leave a comment