Reflecting Christ

A lot of people and events have touched me in recent weeks, most of which has been unknown to those who have done the touching.  The above video is one of those events.

I am lucky enough to have known Chris Gallagher a little in college at Freed-Hardeman.  I’m a bit older than he is and since I got married during my junior year, I never really spent a lot of time around him.  But through the wonder of Facebook, I’ve been able to reconnect with Chris and get to know him a little bit better.  It’s been a blessing for me, because I’ve been able to discuss some thoughts and struggles I’ve had with him and he’s always had good insights that have helped me in my study.

I don’t want to say much about the video because a) I want you to watch it, and b) Chris does such an amazing job relaying the events that pierced the hearts of several men during a trip to a Mexican restaurant in Tulsa, Oklahoma, that I can’t do it justice.  So I will simply introduce the video by saying that this is an amazing example of what being a reflection of Christ means.

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’ “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ “The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’ (Matthew 25:34-40, NIV)

Sadly, I’ve seen us get so caught up in what we can and can’t do in worship, listened to us argue over the grace of God, and watched brothers and sisters in Christ treat each other like dirt, that perhaps…just perhaps we have forgotten what Jesus said it takes to get into heaven.

2 Responses to Reflecting Christ

  1. nick gill says:

    You probably did well not to spend too much time around Chris! LOL

    Seriously, though – that is a great story!

    I love the name of your blog, and the spirit that you write with. You’ve been added to my Google Reader.

  2. John says:

    Well, I do remember stories of Chris earning the occasional-to-frequent trip to the dean’s office. I believe one such story involved a large slingshot and oranges, but Chris will have to elaborate. 🙂

    I appreciate the follow, Nick, and look forward to learning from you and others in the future.

Leave a comment